Martin Kaplan is an American singer-songwriter based in San Diego, California. The Slow Down features 12 songs spanning a 25 year songwriting career.

Earlier in his musical career, Martin played with San Francisco indie rock band Lost Pilgrims, releasing two albums and touring the United States several times. In March 1994, Billboard Magazine featured Lost Pilgrims as one of the best unsigned bands in the United States.

The musicians on The Slow Down include veterans of the Los Angeles Americana music scene including Todd Herfindal (The Meadows), Rich McCulley (Bob Woodruff, Will Kimbrough), Carl Byron (Anne McCue, Michelle Shocked), Greg Boaz (Dave Alvin) and Tommy Rickard (Linda Perry, Scott Weiland).